Performance Review 2023

Last year, we felt slightly aggrieved that our employer made out they would match inflation with our pay rises, but then disguised it with: a one-off profit share, pension payments, and optional benefits. Our wage only increased by 2% but inflation was currently around 7% and predicted to rise further. Better than nothing though, so can’t really complain.

With inflation being 10%, we wondered what we would get this year. Then came the communication that stated that they understand inflation, and remarked that we are still highly profitable so can cover the costs:

“Further to our communication at the end of 2022, I can now update you on our remuneration approach for 2023. We know and understand that employees are continuing to experience cost pressures and we remain committed to ensuring that the overall pay budget for this year reflects the continued external inflationary environment we are in. Whilst this has been possible due to the ongoing success of the business, it will require us to again manage our costs in 2023 carefully.”

HR Director

However, then they reminded us that they gave us: 

  1. an extra £200 one-off payment
  2. Increased leave for parents
  3. the option to work bank holidays and take a different day off instead.
  4. they will give us a one-off profit share just like last year

So with them clutching at straws for things they have done, you know that means they weren’t giving us 10%. Maybe we could get 5% as a compromise then?

“The exact amount of any increase to an individual’s salary and timing will be agreed locally, as normal, and will be dependent on a number of factors including performance. I believe these measures reflect our responsibility to be aware of the external inflationary environment, our immense gratitude for your efforts over the past year and our desire to become an employer of choice.”

HR Director

What did I get?

0%

immense gratitude for your efforts over the past year” 🤨

I’ve mentioned in previous blogs that judging performance is very subjective and often bent to fit a narrative, and I got completely screwed. So let’s get into it:

The Review

“You had an average year in 2022, working on only a couple of projects, one where you worked as an individual contributor then moved onto a pair project”

Well, that seems to imply just being on 2 projects in a year was a bad thing, but that’s not really my fault is it? Since I single-handedly delivered one project, then was in a team of 2, surely that should show I can handle responsibility and pressure?

“You were good in many technical aspects but were not able to step up to the plate as a leader in the team.”

I was in a team of 2 as a Senior Developer, and I got really good feedback from that team member. What more do you want?

“You were given an opportunity to lead on defining our interview process. I expected you to lead on this but have not shown much interest in it. Ultimately someone else led it, creating the interview pack, redefining interview questions and leading live interviews, which I think is a missed opportunity to shine.”

I blogged about this process. It was a mess, but at least I tried my best to direct it. We created an interview process for Graduate Developers from Indian universities who were using Python, but set them C# and Object-oriented questions…then asked questions on Software Testing which they also don’t do. I was pretty clear we needed to focus on the people we were targeting (Python and Web programming) and not on what the job was (C# Developer); (or even better, change the people we were targeting – but that was already decided upon). I got outvoted by the other Seniors. I felt I couldn’t lead in the interviews because I didn’t believe in the questions.

“I can see that you might not see Unit testing as a productive way forward, and the target set might not be accurate”

In recent times, managers have been demanding we achieve 80% test coverage and I have highlighted how poor many tests are that people write, and the 80% is a random target. It’s not improving the quality of code at all. Due to the fact I wrote little (but high-quality tests) I got criticised and talked about between senior management. I raised in my review that I believe managers now see my output as low quality, so I will need to repair my reputation.

I also raised that I was annoyed at the frequency of team member changes. My projects had Testers switched in and out, we changed Product Owners, Software Architect, and there was talk of more changes that didn’t happen. Colin then stated “I never raised my concerns at the time”, but I definitely did.

Some of the comments received from your colleagues:

“I think that he has been a good technical lead. His knowledge is excellent, and this has been shown in how he has been able to help me with any technical problems. He has constantly been available, has a great attendance record, and will defer annual leave for the good of the project. His code review comments are always clear, concise, and helpful. He is always available to help with Testing as well.”

“He has a good insight into what he thought was and was not possible”

“He needs to make sure that just because an issue is raised he doesn’t jump on it right away as there is a priority order for things”

“He’s reliable and just gets on with the work”

“Can be a bit quiet on calls at times but whenever I specifically call him out in calls, he would answer questions”

“At weekly meetings there wasn’t enough substance in his updates. He doesn’t come across as a leader to me or perhaps he just did not want to be at those meetings.”

I definitely got good feedback from people but then the positive ones were ignored in the discussion. I had good arguments against some of the negative points as well. I think I only picked up non-prioritised work when I had finished the work that was. What do you want me to do? Just sit there idle? I often knew it was issues related to recent work so it was obviously gonna be the highest priority, and as Team Lead, I think I can make that call myself. 

I’m always annoyed when people criticise me for being quiet on calls. If enough people are saying the things I am thinking, then I don’t need to speak. If no one has raised the issue I am thinking of, then I will provide it. Then, if people specifically ask what I think, then I will say, even if I am repeating what others have said. That final feedback was about a meeting similar to a Scrum of Scrums where many teams get together. But the meeting was mainly for Colin and he rarely attended. So I had the attitude of quickly going through my points then moving on. I thought the wording was harsh – they have no idea what it is like to work with me directly.

I have no idea how they can justify giving me nothing. That’s like a 10% pay-cut with today’s economy.

Colin isn’t my manager anymore, so let’s hope my new manager will actually put things right.

Leave a comment