The classic Wingdings printout Bug

When I was a Software Tester, one of the first bugs I found was on an appointment booking system. There was this concept called “Assignment List” which had a list of Patients that required appointments. Then you drag and drop them into the appointment slot to book them in. A tick/checkmark would appear next to their name. I then printed it out and saw that most of the printout was in the Wingdings font!

I thought it was pretty clear, so typed up the basic information in the Bug Report, even suggesting what I thought the problem was. My (correct) assumption that the font was switched to use the tick/checkmark from the Wingdings font, then the font wasn’t set back to normal for the next bit of information, resulting in a full page of Wingdings symbols! 

Ensure patients are present in the assignment list. Book patients into session. Press the print button – App book is printed and includes patient details – Details for some patients appear in Windings font in assignment lists. This is possibly related to the tick (shown by using Windings font?).

My bug report

For some reason, the lead developer decided to be a bit aggressive and add extra information to my report:

CRITICAL MISSING INFORMATION: This ONLY happens if a patient in the assignment list has been assigned and has a tick next to them.  When printing it prints the tick but it appears that the rest of the details for that patient are left in the wingdings font.

Developer response

CRITICAL MISSING INFORMATION!

Leave a comment