Excuse: Performing “Analysis”

I think I have discovered a new excuse to use in order to buy time; “Performing Analysis”.

Example 1

There was a Major Incident on Friday which I debugged and suggested a simple fix. However, instead of me going ahead with this fix, the managers wanted the team responsible for introducing it; to take accountability for it.

After the manager sent the email and Cc’d me in, the team responded with “The Team is analysing this issue; will update you shortly”. Then, after the entire day has passed, they send a follow-up email “this will be ready by close of play Tuesday.”

It was currently Friday, and we wanted it released for Monday (since it was a Major Incident) – not released on Wednesday. So I had to sort it out.

Example 2

Dave commented on a Code Review that he thought the Developer had changed too many files; and there was a simpler way of introducing their fix. They responded: “we need to perform some analysis” and took a day or so before coming up with new changes. It would have just taken 10 minutes to rewrite it; I didn’t see any scope for this so-called “analysis”.

I’ll keep an eye out for more examples of this.

Leave a comment