How To Make Your Team Hate You #3

I was thinking about the colleagues I’ve legitimately despised (and it’s not just my opinion), and most of them have something in common: they have either been promoted, or told they will get promoted if they prove themselves, resulting in a change of behaviour. So here is story number 3, and hopefully the last one since I don’t have any more drafted up.

The Situation

I was once on a project where I was the only software tester. Usually, when it’s a proper project where it is going to span 3 months or more, then we would have at least 2 testers assigned.

I was well excited to show that I could handle this responsibility. The project went well, and I was well proud. That project was actually a prerequisite for something bigger, and yet again, I was looking forward to the challenge of the follow-on project.

Collectively, both projects were going to be a replacement for part of our software, but it was going to be phased over time. Therefore, it was important that the old version still worked.

So I looked at what the current system did and wrote all the features down. I then spent ages looking through all the Test Cases, comparing these to the features that I documented. Then I had to write the Test Cases that were missing. This probably took around a month of preparation.

Since the new version needed to do what the old one did, but might have done it in a different way, I basically had to duplicate every test, then start changing the steps accordingly.

Having this 100% complete test coverage worked well, and I knew people would be thankful for it in the future. Anytime a feature is changed, you know there are tests that you can run for your manual regression tests. I think every tester has been annoyed at some point; when they think a test should exist, but it doesn’t, so they have to begrudgingly write it.

I’ve done the work for them. I don’t think any other area of the system had this level of test coverage. No one can be annoyed about this can they? 

As we moved onto the second project, I was told another Tester, Barbara was joining the team. I’m not sure if I was told explicitly, or if I just heard rumours, but I’m pretty sure I knew it was the case that – if Barbara did well on the project, then she would be promoted to Test Lead. Based on my performance over the years, and based on the project I had just finished, I think it should have been obvious to promote me to Test Lead. Maybe I was slightly annoyed, but I don’t think that had any affect on what happened next…

The Conflict

So Barbara joins the team and looks at the test cases. She wasn’t happy. Despite having that 100% test coverage, the tests were “too granular”. She says that when it comes to testing a particular feature, we would end up adding maybe 10-20 tests from my pack. She only wanted to run 1 or 2.

So she starts complaining at me, telling me I’ve wasted my time and I need to rewrite them. She likes the idea of “end-to-end tests” where one test actually tests several features and could describe what a user would do over a 5 minute period.

For example, I may have written a test that describes how to create a document, then another test how to print a document, then another test on how to email a document.

Her way of testing would be to include all the instructions for these 3 features and put them in one test – since a user may log in, create a document, email it to someone, then print a copy out for themselves.

I argued that my way is better, because if there is a bug involving email, you can just pick out the short test involving email. I’d be annoyed if I had to test printing it when it has nothing to do with the email bug fix.

But that’s not how we did it in my old team!

Yeah, but you aren’t in your old team. You’ve joined this one, and this is our process.

She used this statement multiple times about different aspects of how we work. I kept on explaining how if we work “agile”, we are supposed to come up with a process that suits us, and agree as a team. This process suited us, or at least it worked perfectly well before she joined our team.

Yet she comes in, kicks off a massive fuss to try and put her stamp on the team, and bypasses the correct channels for these decisions; which would have been the Retrospectives. I would have been happy to debate it in a meeting, rather than her dictating what I should do in front of everyone.

What Barbara did next was – run off to her manager, who happened to be my manager as well. But because my relationship with my manager was simply a professional one, and Barbara was very chummy with her, then our manager instantly backed Barbara.

So then I had to plan out which features made sense to use after each other. I spent 3 or 4 days planning this out. I spent more days writing them. I only wrote about 7. How many test cases did she write? 

Zero. 

Didn’t practice what she preached.

I was fuming.

When it came to testing the new features, she often volunteered to test the easier items, and gave me the harder items. I didn’t mind, because if she wasn’t on the project, I would have just done them all anyway.

What was infuriating, was that the next day, she would chat some nonsense about how she was too busy so didn’t have time to test it, so then asked me to test it instead. So I’d end up doing all the work. It’s just that it would take longer because I’d finish my work and have nothing to do, then the next day, I’d have to do her work that she was supposed to do. So the result was that we had 1 extra tester in the team, but productivity had halved.

She did this for weeks. It wasn’t a one off. Often, I’d look at her monitor and saw she was sending personal emails, doing online shopping, or just looking at news.

Then when it came to the stand-ups, where we stated to the rest of the team what we had accomplished; she then claimed that she did the work.

I was fuming. How could she say that when I was standing there with her? It’s plagiarism, and absolute lies. I complained to my manager. She refused to do anything. I was so tempted to walk out.

I’d never had that feeling of not wanting to go to work before, but some days I just didn’t want to go. I actually started looking for new jobs.

Sometimes when Barbara was away from her desk, I’d be ranting to my team. We were a close bunch on the initial project, but it just didn’t feel the same way. Soon I was brought into a meeting with the project manager who seemed to suggest I should apologise and try and get on.

I don’t get it. We were all close and worked well together. We delivered a project successfully on time. A new team member joins. Testing productivity is halved. There’s massive friction. Who do you think is the problem? You could easily verify my claim that she wasn’t doing the work. The test case runs are audited. My name would be on every one.

It seemed that Barbara had just sweet-talked everyone and they were determined to promote her regardless. As a Test Lead, you are supposed to have testing skills, people-skills and some management skills. Barbara wasn’t showing any of it. She was refusing to run test cases and she was causing friction. Productivity of the testing side was lower than when it was just me on my own.

Epilogue

So what happened in the end? Well, I was a bit unsure what I wanted in my career. I initially wanted to move up the ranks as a Tester, but it wasn’t happening. I did get the craving to be a Developer, and considered becoming an Automated Tester. I requested a change of role to a Developer since the Automated Tester role didn’t exist in the company. I’d be in the same department, but I knew I’d switch teams so would be away from Barbara. I just had to put up with another couple of months working with someone I despised. 

I did get my internal move in the end. Barbara got her undeserved promotion. Years later she got made redundant. Better late than never.

For more in the series, see: How To Make Your Team Hate You #1 and How To Make Your Team Hate You #2

One thought on “How To Make Your Team Hate You #3

Leave a comment